What Comes Next: Artist Interventions in Technology

October 5-10 on Zoom

Eyebeam’s Rapid Response for a Better Digital Future, an experimental fellowship launched at the outbreak of the global pandemic, has invigorated artistic creation in a moment of systemic collapse. The program is centered around the questions: How do we exit surveillance capitalism and what comes next? Learn more about the 30 participating artists, hailing from nearly every continent, who are carving out a more humane future during our dynamic weeklong showcase.

Noontime (12PM EDT/ 9AM PDT/ 5PM BST/ 6PM SAST) presentations October 5th-9th, will illustrate the fellows’ projects, which range in focus from free and widely available artificial intelligence that supports Black health and healing, to addressing the devastating financial consequences of the surveillance of safe and consensual online sex workers during Covid-19.

On the final day of the program, October 10th (12PM EDT), we will announce the eight artists who have been selected to move on to Phase 2 of the Rapid Response fellowship. Each will receive $25,000 to turn their ideas into action. This event will include a special panel featuring Lisa Kim, Gallery Director, Ford Foundation; Dr. Mariko Silver, President and CEO, Henry Luce Foundation; Ekene Ijeoma, artist and founder/director of Poetic Justice at MIT Media Lab; and Elissa Blount Moorhead, Eyebeam Resident Artist 2020.

ASL and Closed Captioning will be available.

Schedule

Click an event below for more info